Year in Review 2015-2016

Well, my first year of college is nearly coming to an end, and for some reason I don’t quite feel like an adult. I thought high school flew by, but that was nothing compared to college. I think the difference was I truly enjoyed what I was doing and who I was doing it with. A lot of self reflection and growth has also happened for me, which I love; I like myself more than I did when I arrive at CMU.

You know how people say you meet your best friends in college, well they were right x10. If LAS gave me anything, it was a group of people better than myself that I could love and learn from. I really don’t want to leave this summer just because I don’t think I can handle that much time away from my people. I think I really learned what friendship and leadership is about through my cohort and feel like a better person because of them. At first, I only chose Central for the money I was offered; come to find out, it was truly meant to be.

Like every other freshman college student who doesn’t quite have their life put together yet, I changed my major. By changed I mean from one spectrum to complete opposite. I decided that I wanted to pursue Political Science instead of Biomedical. This was a crazy decision for me because I’ve never really liked talking about politics until I got to college. I think a huge part of me coming into my interest for politics was being surrounded by open-minded people who I could have a conversation with about our differences-adulthood vs teenager hood. I’m excited about my decision though. I’ve always been told I’d make a great lawyer, so maybe one day I’ll fulfill my destiny.

A year on a college campus has made me even more motivated to get involved. My sophomore year I’m looking to tryout for the Dance Team, join a sorority as well as an academic fraternity, hopefully find an on campus job, and participate in more IM leagues. I felt like I had too much free time this year that I want to utilize next year. I also started adding to my completed bucket list activities. I participated in the Special Olympics Polar Plunge which I can say was the best and worst thing ever. I became the 7v7 IM Dodgeball Champ and a IM Sand Volleyball 4v4 runner up. Academically, I got my butt handed to be for the first time by my Chemistry class.

IMG_0199Overall, I had a great year. I am incredibly blessed to be able to attend college let alone have such a positive first year. I’m getting my first taste of freedom which is equally exciting as it is terrifying. I went on my first spring break without my mama, paid my own lot of parking tickets, grocery shopped regularly, and tried to master the art of proofreading my own papers. I proud of the things I’ve done and the time I’ve spent in Mount Pleasant and look forward to what the next years bring. I know I have the potential to make change on this campus, and now that I don’t need a map to find my classes, I think I’ll have the time to commit to that.

Cards for Veterans

10525385_10153662261324075_4765013189281823996_o
IMG_0033


Leave a Reply

