Social Media Review

October 31, 2016

What makes you a racist?

         I don’t believe the true definition of racist is understood by most people. The word meaning, the belief that all members of each race possess characteristics or abilities specific to that race, especially so as to distinguish it as inferior or superior to another race or races. What I hear/see most from people trying to defend their position is, “I’m not racist; I have friends who are black.” “I’m not racist; I hired a black guy.”

Referring back to my last entry about Reyna Muck, this is how she defended her innocence on twitter after her racist post regarding a black female football player.

This post was obviously meant as sarcasm, but proves my point that just because you may have black friends and family, doesn’t mean you don’t harbor racist ideals. This girl has proven her prejudice by posting this after becoming aware of the consequences of her actions. Reyna Muck does not get to defend her position by showing us that she loves black people just because she has a couple pictures.

 

Leave a Reply

